Ecological Blue Flag Program

The Ecological Blue Flag is an annual Program; it rewards the efforts and voluntary work towards the strive for conservation and development as well as the protection of natural resources, the implementation of actions to confront climate change, the search for better sanitary hygienic conditions, and the improvement of the public health of the inhabitants of Costa Rica.

The EBFP award a blue flag to the participating winners who demonstrate their commitment to community work. This program involves a process of improvement, and therefore an organization may lose the flag if it doesn’t meet the requirements the following year.

Currently, the program has 14 categories, which are:

  • Community Health
  • Sustainable Homes
  • Micro watersheds
  • Climate change
  • Communities
  • Schools
  • Natural Protected Areas
  • Municipalities
  • Agropecuaria
  • Beaches
  • Eco diplomat
  • Ecclesial Ecologycal
  • Special events

Cala Lodge was evaluated for the Climate Change category, making significant efforts to reduce the impact of our operation on the environment. In 2016 we got 3 of 5 stars on this category.